The ESaT TELSa examinations measure the degree of proficiency in the language attained by the candidates. The examinations have been designed with an international user in mind.

The test cannot really be classified as neither a General English Test nor an English for Special Purposes Test as we have tried to incorporate skills such as summaries and note-taking more commonly found in Academic English Tests. This, we feel, provides our candidates with a more complete preparation and they will therefore be better able to cope with the language and skills necessary in the real world. The test could potentially cater for a wider range of candidates from the young student looking to apply for admission in Universities to the adult seeking to improve his/her professional position.

Key features:

• Tests for learners of English as a foreign/second language aged 16 and above

•Seven levels following the CEFR: A1, A2, B1, B1+, B2, C1 and C2 as well as a pre-A1 level for absolute beginners (Starter)

• All TELSa examinations test 4 skills:

-  Reading

-  Writing

-  Listening

-  Speaking

To ensure that our exams are as thorough as possible, Use of English is also targeted in our examinations, testing functional language, vocabulary and grammar.

• learner friendly examinations

• valid and reliable assessment

• support for teachers

For a detailed outline of the various tests, please refer to the relevant Teacher Handbook.